Ordinances

District Ordinances

The Plattsburg Fire Protection District Board of Directors has enacted ordinances to protect life and property, by prevention of burning and discharge of fireworks in certain conditions. These ordinances are enacted by authority of MoRS 321.022, and violation shall constitute a misdemeanor, and the cited party will be required to appear in Missouri Circuit Court. Failure to appear in Court after being cited may result in a warrant being issued for the arrest of the cited party.

Burn Ban / Burning of Illegal Substances

District Ordinance 12-1 was approved and enacted by the District on August 14, 2012. The ordinance prohibits the outdoor burning of various substances. It also allows the Board of Trustees to enact a Burn Ban when meteorological conditions warrant the issuance of such a ban to protect life and property. The ordinance further makes prohibits the hindrance of any District Personnel or Law Enforcement Officer in the due performance of his/her duties.

Person in violation of this ordinance may be found guilty of an unclassified misdemeanor. Fines for the first violation shall range from $25.00 to $100.00.  Fines for second and subsequent violations shall range from $25.00 to $500.00 per offence. A party convicted of a violation who fails to pay their sentenced fine may be confined to the county jail for no more than 30 days.

Full text of the ordinance may be found here: Burn Ban Ordinance

Fireworks Ordinance

District Ordinance 12-2 was approved and enacted by the District on August 14, 2012. The ordinance prohibits the discharge of aerial fireworks when a board issued burn ban is in effect. Violators of this ordinance will be cited for violating the burn ban ordinance with the same penalties applying to a fireworks violation.

Full of the ordinance may be found here: Fireworks Ordinance

State Statutes

The State of Missouri restricts outdoor burning. Further information on outdoor burning can be found here: MO DNR Open Burning Fact Sheet

Open burning of natural vegetation or untreated wood requires a permit from the Missouri Department of Natural Resources. The application for this permit can be found here: Vegetative Waste / Untreated Wood Application